Link

The Politics of Privilege: an interview with Lord Strathclyde

The Politics of Privilege

This is an interview with Lord Strathclyde, the former Leader of the House of Lords, whom I interviewed a month before he resigned from Cabinet. It was published in Cherwell a few days after he did.

Call me boastful, but I am especially proud of my conclusion in the final paragraph in which I suggested he was ready to leave politics.

For that brief period when Lords reform was still hot earlier last year, it must have looked like his retirement (redundancy?) from politics was imminent. I don’t get the impression he’d have minded much.

I wrote that before news emerged that he had resigned, but also before it was published. So, alas, my magical prophetic skills will have passed unnoticed…

Leave a Reply

